We're an independent community-LED organisation working to ensure the needs of our community are at the heart of the Holloway Prison redevelopment

Holloway Prison, in Islington, was the largest women’s prison in Europe. It was closed in 2016 and the women moved to prisons outside London.

In March 2019, Peabody Housing Association bought the site with considerable subsidy from public funds. This is the largest development in our borough for over 30 years.

Since the announcement of the prison's closure, groups such as Community Plan for Holloway, Reclaim Holloway and Sisters Uncut have been calling for the redevelopment to provide much needed social housing, genuinely affordable homes, community amenities, and a Women’s Building providing services for people in Islington and further afield: a true legacy for the women of Holloway.

For a full timeline of events and so much more, head over to the Justice4Holloway website.


In March 2022, Islington Council approved Peabody’s plans to develop the site into housing, including 415 homes at social rent, a park, and a floor in one building to provide women's services. Demolition is currently underway. We're holding Peabody and the council to account for the promises they have made.


Our organisation is led by Working Groups, open to everyone in the community, and supported by three part-time staff members. The Working Groups are coordinated by a board of trustees representing a variety of local groups.